Call Us: 0423 334 936  Email:

The RTAA are pleased to announce that the submissions for the 2018 Frank Franklyn Award are now open!

The Award recognises the contribution that young people make to the future of the rail industry and encourages them to learn from international sources that will benefit both the individual and the Australian Rail Industry in the future. The Award supports one of the RTAA’s key focus areas “to broaden the appeal of rail to women, young people and Indigenous communities”.

The prize includes conference / exhibition entry fees, travel, accommodation and expenses totalling an amount up to $10,000. (This amount includes GST and is further defined in the Award Entrant Rules and Procedures.) The conference / exhibition must be consistent with the objectives of the RTAA.

The winner will be invited to join the RTAA Management Committee for a period of 12 months. The aim of this role is to foster involvement by young people in rail and engagement with industry groups such as the RTAA.

Applications close on 20 April, so be sure to get your submissions in by then!






The future of the Roads, Rail and Transport Infrastructure sector hinges upon the next generation of great leaders. As research continues to show the value of a diverse leadership team, it becomes increasingly important to reach your potential as a leader.

Whether you need to refine your leadership and management skills, network with like-minded professionals or navigate change, this event will equip you with essential strategies to take control of your career and pioneer your pathway to success. You will learn how to effectively develop your authentic leadership profile, build your influence in the workplace and transition with ease into your next leadership role.

The Women in Rail, Roads and Transport Infrastructure Leadership Summit brings together a variety of senior leaders to share their inspirational leadership journeys and provide practical advice to get ahead. A variety of inspirational case studies, practical expert commentaries and interactive panels will give you the skills to define your career potential. Join us for an opportunity to network and learn from executives in an interactive forum designed to equip you with strategies to progress in your career.

Take advantage of generous discounts and register team members early to ensure your place at this outstanding leadership and networking event!

 Exclusive Australian OnLine Subscribers Discount: Use Booking Code WRTI0518A - Q2


  • Inspiration and advice from accomplished leaders
  • Overcome workplace challenges
  • Grow high-performance teams
  • Advance your career in a male-dominated industry


Featured Speakers Including:

  • Jayne Whitney, Chief Strategy Officer, John Holland
  • Katie Singleton, Head of Rail Control Solutions, Bombardier Transportation Australia
  • Deborah Grace, Head of Operations and Engagement, Human Capital, Laing O'Rourke
  • Collette Burke, Director, VicTrack


Download Brochure:

Phone: 61 2 8239 9700

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Booking Code: WRTI0518A - Q2


It is an honour to be addressing you and representing the RTAA as your new president. David Bainbridge has been an outstanding and influential President over the past 7 years. David’s legacy has put us in great stead for the future and he will remain a valuable member contributing on the RTAA management committee.

It was an eventful week for the RTAA in Brisbane at AusRail Plus 2017 where we elected our new Office Bearers, participated in our highly acclaimed Yellow Tie Dinner, launched our Women in Rail Publication and coordinated an extensive suite of presentations at the RTAA Technical Stream.

There was only 1 vote difference that decided the result of the Presidential election. We would like to praise Jonathan Barnes for his hard work throughout the year and for being a competitive candidate for the Presidentship. We congratulate Jonathan on being re-elected as Vice President. The RTAA also congratulates Christina Young who is our first female Vice President since the RTAA was established 44 years ago. We would also like to welcome 6 new members on the RTAA management committee: Abbie Thomas, Annabelle Webb, Jarrod Wakefield, Nicola Chung, Orla O’Sullivan and Sanjee Sathianandan. I look forward to working with you all in the coming year.