Call Us: 0423 334 936  Email:

The role of the Executive is to manage the day-to-day operations of the RTAA.

The Executive is comprised of office bearers who are elected annually at the Annual General Meeting, held during AusRAIL.  

More information on our Executive is provided below.

Tom Kerr Profile Picture Resized

Thomas Kerr


As RTAA President, Thomas’ vision is to encourage and inspire the younger generation to live their dreams, take calculated risks and ensure they do not take for granted the knowledge and wisdom their seniors have passed down to them. 

Thomas is a Chartered Professional Project Manager, Civil Engineer and a Tutor with nearly 9 years of experience in the construction and maintenance of railways. He has completed a Bachelor of Civil Engineering, a Diploma of Project Management and a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment. 

With extensive expertise in rail, Thomas has a broad understanding of different railway modes such as heavy rail, metro and light rail. He has achieved many accolades including Sydney Trains Gold Award, RTAA Young Rail Specialist Award and Transport for NSW’s Employee Excellence Award. 

Thomas thoroughly enjoys working with his teams, challenging the norm and working in such a diverse and vibrant environment that is transport industry.

Jonathan Barnes

Vice President

Jonathan has worked in the rail industry for the last 15 years, having started his career with Swetha in 2000. He spent his early years in Rail Safeworking and corridor management, while studying civil and computer engineering at Western Sydney University. He joined RailCorp’s Intern program in 2008, working in the Civil Major Construction group, and has subsequently worked across a range of areas. He is currently the Rail Inspection Services Manager for Sydney Trains.

Jonathan joined the Management Committee in 2013 and has played a key role in the Rail Industry Field Day as well as improving the RTAA’s engagement with young members. In 2014, Jonathan was honoured to be elected Vice President.

Complementing his role with RTAA, Jonathan is an active member of various panels and groups of Engineers Australia, including holding a position with the Sydney Division Committee.

Christina Young

Vice President

Christina Young is currently the Commissioning Manager for Downer and has had a varied career in Rail. Christina has been on the Management Committee of the RTAA for the last two years and in 2017 took the plunge to sit on the Executive Committee.

Allan Logan


Allan has over 30 years’ experience in the rail industry, having commenced employment with Plasser Australia in 1980 as National Sales Manager. With a mechanical engineering background and strong commercial and industrial sales experience, he quickly adapted to the highly specialised field of track maintenance machines.

He joined the Management Committee of the RTAA in 1992, representing the track maintenance group of members, and in 2006 he was elected to the role of Vice President. In 2008 he volunteered for the role of Treasurer, a position he continues to perform today. 

Allan has maintained a strong involvement and commitment to the RTAA’s signature event – the Rail Industry Field Day and is a member of the organising committee.

Jim Mahood


Jim has 35 years' civil engineering experience and started his career as a civil engineer with the State Rail Authority of NSW.

Since that time he has held various positions including within Broadspectrum’s rail and power businesses, as well as having experience in road maintenance and pavement stabilisation projects.

Key rail projects Jim has been involved with include the Sydney Airport Line and Epping to Chatswood Rail Tunnel maintenance contracts. Adding to this experience, Jim brings his commitment to cooperative contracting philosophies and developing outsourced asset management solutions in transport infrastructure.

He was elected to the Executive in 2016 and has been an active RTAA member for many years, including playing a key role on the Rail Industry Field Day organising committee.